Posted in Completed Projects, Ethnic Fashion

Eid 2016

Here it is, the orange Thai silk Baju Kurung Pesak Gantung which I made for Eid-ul-Fitri 2016.

Eid 2016 Baju Kurung
I didn’t wear it on the actual day, but when visiting relatives about a week after the religious celebration.

I’m using it with a skirt made from “songket” which is a traditional Malay fabric woven with gold or silver threads. Mine isn’t real gold, of course, just some metallic threads to simulate the real thing.

This particular skirt was sewn by my mother, back when she sewed a lot of my Eid clothing. It is a straight skirt with pleats on the left, typically worn with Baju Kurung Pesak Buluh, not Pesak Gantung. But since the colours match and I did not have the time to make the wrap skirt traditionally worn with Pesak Gantung, I just had to go with this one.

Leave a Reply

