Posted in Completed Projects, Sewing Projects

Lazy pants for lazy days

After completing a relatively complex (at my beginner skill level) lace dress project for a friend of mine, I decided that I wanted some to do some easy and quick “me” sewing. Sewing for me, by me, as a break from the world.

I settled on a pair of comfortable pants for lounging around the house, which in my case, means napping and generally being lazy after a crazy day at work. I did not even bother with drawing my own pants pattern, instead I picked one out from a Japanese pattern book.

This is a pattern book for clothing that can be sewn with overlockers and coverstitch.

2014-08-04 18.50.04_zpshrnnxn46

2014-08-08 07.28.07_zpseavkc3zr
I chose to make the long version. This view shows one with an elastic waistband, but I went with drawstrings instead.
2014-08-04 21.03.13_zpsefrjr0cv
Before any sewing can be done, first comes the mind-boggling task of finding the correct pattern to trace among a jumble of lines.

This book has graded patterns from size M to LL. I had to go with the largest *weep*. Still, its very fortunate to have found a pattern that fits in a Japanese sewing book. I always have to go for larger sizes when I go shopping at Uniqlo anyway…

Now on to the actual cutting and sewing!

2014-08-04 21.05.03_zpswutcgwze
Pattern pieces found, traced and cut.
2014-08-04 22.19.00_zps1y8dkwju
I just placed and pinned the paper pattern on some broadcloth, then cut them out.

I had to reduce the size of the pockets in order to get the patterns to fit on the fabric. That was the only adjustment made as I wasn’t being too picky about fit.

2014-08-04 22.19.27_zpsoyqkiazo
There wasn’t much wastage left over from about two meters of fabric. Always a plus!

Not too many work-in-progress photos, because everything was quite straightforward. Just joining the front and back pant piece for each leg, then joining the inseam and crotch, followed by the waistband. The pattern actually calls for all the joining seams to be done with an overlocker/serger and coverstitch, but I just went with a regular straight stitch on a lockstitch machine. As a result, I had to work with very small seam allowances (about 1 cm) and thus reinforced the crotch seams with a mock fell stitch and also sewed a line of decorative stitch on the waistband seam to keep everything nice and secure. The only pictures I took were of the buttonholes for the drawstring openings, because this was the debut of my Juki buttonhole foot.

2014-08-04 23.01.37_zpshtdyhaad
Automatic buttonhole foot for my Juki F600.
2014-08-04 23.01.21_zpspxtjmnqf
Quick and easy buttonholes. I can foresee myself making many button-down shirts with this baby.

I used a red acrylic drawstring rope from my fabric stash for the drawstring. No fuss there. I decided against an elastic waistband because I hate how the elastic gives out before the fabric does, especially on a pair of comfy pajama pants that get washed often. A real pity, because I love how soft and comfortable cotton gets as it wears out. Hopefully the drawstrings will give this pair a more years of good use than an elastic band. And of course, I couldn’t resist playing around with some of the decorative stitches on my machine. I selected a few patterns and sewed some lines of decorative stitching on the waistband, I think they really helped to spice up an otherwise plain pair of PJs.

2014-08-08 07.26.35_zpsjwsky1n4
Decorative stitch is great for using up almost-empty thread spools and bobbins, if you don’t mind having a mishmash of colours!
2014-08-08 07.24.53_zpsvub6jfou
Everything joined up and ready to go, I mean, lazing about.

All in all, a great pattern to work with, except for the part about the pocket. All the seams matched up perfectly. I might make another pair in capri-length for warmer days/nights and probably leave out the pockets all together. Just need to wait for the next sale at Spotlight to pick out some cotton fabrics in a more cheerful colour or print than dark purple. Or maybe even experiment with cotton knit fabrics and sew with a serger like it was meant to be, no? So many ideas, so little time (and money ;)).

Leave a Reply

